Skip to content


News Posted on October 20, 2017

Professor Chander Elected to American Law Institute

Professor Anupam Chander has been elected to the American Law Institute (ALI). Professor Chander is Director of the California International Law Center and Martin Luther King, Jr. Professor of Law at King Hall. A graduate of Harvard College and Yale Law School, he has been a visiting professor at Yale, Chicago, Stanford, Cornell, and Georgetown. He is the author of The Electronic Silk Road: How the Web Binds the World in Commerce, and his articles are published widely in the nation’s leading law journals, including the Yale Law Journal and the California Law Review. (His scholarly papers can be accessed via his Social Science Research Network author page.) He has served on the executive council of the American Society of International Law and serves as a judge for the Stanford Junior International Faculty Forum. The recipient of Google Research Awards and an Andrew Mellon grant on the topic of surveillance, he is a member of the ICTSD/World Economic Forum E15 expert group on the digital economy and the World Economic Forum expert group on Internet fragmentation.

ChanderWidely considered the nation's most important non-governmental organization of legal reform, ALI oversees law reform projects that often form the basis of laws enacted across the country and become standards cited in judges' legal opinions, lawyers' briefs, and scholarly articles. ALI membership is a distinct professional honor, and the number that can be admitted is limited to 3,000.

With Professor Chander’s appointment, King Hall boasts a total of 19 faculty and emeriti who are members of the prestigious institution. The UC Davis law faculty includes ALI members Dean Kevin R. Johnson and Professors Ashutosh Bhagwat, Gabriel "Jack" Chin, William S. Dodge, Floyd F. Feeney, Robert W. Hillman, Thomas W. Joo, and Leticia Saucedo, as well as Professors Emeriti Alan Brownstein, Carol S. Bruch, Joel C. Dobris, Daniel W. Fessler, Angela P. Harris, John B. Oakley, Rex R. Perschbacher, Edward H. Rabin, Daniel L. Simmons, and Bruce Wolk.