Skip to content


News Posted on April 27, 2020

Public Service Graduation celebrates 2020 graduates who upheld King Hall tradition

More than 200 people came online for the virtual 2020 Public Service Graduation, held Thursday, April 23.

Associate Career Services Directors Alec Nocco and Sofia Parino organized the event, and Nocco served as emcee. Dean Kevin R. Johnson offered remarks, thanking the class of 2020 for devoting more than 20,000 hours to public service.

“In these challenging times, it is especially important to celebrate your commitment to social justice,” Johnson told the Public Service Graduates. “This celebration honors students who have devoted themselves to the social justice ideals of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.”

The class of 2020 has helped immigrants and seniors, Johnson noted. The students assisted workers and domestic abuse survivors, and helped trans and gender-nonconforming people.

“I look forward to seeing how you change the world,” Johnson continued. “And we need you. The pandemic is hurting the most vulnerable populations. Illness, death, and xenophobia hurt all of us. You will be the ones to help.”

Evan Reid ’20 received the Martin Luther King Jr. Service Award, bestowed upon a graduating student who exemplifies Dr. King’s vision and commitment to public service.

As a King Hall student, Reid crafted death penalty appellate arguments at the Office of the Federal Defender for the Eastern District of California, Capital Habeas Unit; assisted the Law Office of Charles Bonneau in handling complex, criminal appeals; assisted individuals with sealing juvenile records for UC Davis Law’s Humanitarian Aid Legal Organization; addressed racial disparities in death penalty cases and prison condition cases as an Equal Justice Initiative intern; and served as the student director of UC Davis Law’s Restorative Justice Practicum. Upon graduation, Reid will serve as a 2020 Equal Justice Initiative (EJI) fellow.

Mina Arasteh, Tatiana Bush and Muhammad Kenyatta, class of 2021, and Kalan Andrews, Julie Joseph, Alexis Logan and Grecia Orozco, class of 2022, served on the Public Service Graduation Committee.

Aoki Center for Critical Race and Nation Studies Director Mary Louise Frampton served as the Public Service Graduation’s faculty speaker. Professor Gabriel “Jack” Chin presented the Angela Harris Prize for Critical Race Scholarship to Lauren Carbajal ’20 and Nick W. Lee ’20 and the Clinical Recognition Award to Lyla Bugara ’20 and Camila Mojica ’20.

UC Davis School of Law has commissioned a plaque in honor of the class of 2020’s public service, past and future. There will be a dedication ceremony when graduates, students, faculty, and staff can get together in person again at King Hall.