Skip to content


News Posted on February 20, 2019

Professor Larson receives 2019 Distinguished Teaching Award

Professor Carlton F.W. Larson is the recipient of the UC Davis School of Law’s 2019 Distinguished Teaching Award. The honor, made possible through the generosity of Bill and Sally Rutter, will be presented March 14 during the "Celebrating King Hall" event at the Mondavi Center on the UC Davis campus.

Professor Larson is a scholar of American constitutional law and Anglo-American legal history. He is one of the nation’s leading authorities on the law of treason and is the author of the forthcoming book The Trials of Allegiance: Treason, Juries, and the American Revolution (Oxford University Press).

Professor Larson’s scholarship has been cited by numerous federal and state courts and has been profiled in The New York Times, The Economist, TIME, and many other publications. He is a frequent commentator for the national media on constitutional law issues.

A graduate of Harvard University and Yale Law School, Professor Larson served as a law clerk to Judge Michael Daly Hawkins of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit and spent three years as a commercial litigator at Covington & Burling in Washington, D.C., before joining the UC Davis School of Law faculty.

"Celebrating King Hall" will include special recognition of Professor Floyd Feeney, a founding member of the King Hall faculty and a two-time recipient of the Distinguished Teaching Award. Professor Feeney remained an active faculty member until his death Jan. 8, 2019. King Hall also will honor the life and work of Professor and Dean Emeritus Rex Perschbacher, the 1982 recipient of the Distinguished Teaching Award, who died in summer 2018.

The faculty members also nominated for the Distinguished Teaching Award this year were Ashutosh Bhagwat, Floyd Feeney, Jasmine Harris, Irene Joe, Elizabeth Joh, Betsy Rosenblatt, Leticia Saucedo, Brian Soucek, Aaron Tang and Dennis Ventry.

Dean Kevin R. Johnson offers special thanks to the members of the selection committee: Kim Lucia ‘09, chair of the UC Davis School of Law Alumni Board; Professor William S. Dodge, the 2018 Distinguished Teaching Award recipient; and Angela Yahaira Breining, Class of 2019.

Also during the event, Sister Simone Campbell ‘77, executive director of NETWORK Lobby for Catholic Social Justice in Washington, D.C., will be honored as the King Hall Distinguished Alumna of the Year.