Professor Karrigan Börk to Receive Distinguished Teaching Award

Professor Karrigan Börk is the winner of the 2022 Distinguished Teaching Award. The award, supported by the generosity of Bill and Sally Rutter, honors law teachers who give stellar performances in the classroom.

Börk will be honored with the award at the Celebrating King Hall event on Thursday, March 17. That evening, Yeoryios Apallas ’72 also will be honored,  with the King Hall Distinguished Alumnus Award, and Austin Quinn-Davidson ’07 will receive the King Hall Rising Star Alumna Award.

A professor at King Hall since 2019, Börk is a scholar and teacher of environmental law and policy. He graduated with Distinction and Pro Bono Distinction from Stanford Law School in 2009 and completed his Ph.D. dissertation in Ecology at UC Davis in 2011. Börk received the Shapiro Family Award in 2011 as the Outstanding Ph.D. Graduate in Ecology at UC Davis. He clerked for Chief Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit Mary Beck Briscoe, U.S. District Court Judge Julie Robinson, and Judge Janice Karlin on the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Kansas. Börk graduated Phi Beta Kappa from the University of Kansas. The nominations gushed about Börk's enthusiasm for environmental law and his effective instruction.

Others nominated for the Distinguished Teaching Award this year include Andrea Chandrasekher, David Horton, Alix Rogers, Richard Sakai and Brian Soucek.

This year's selection committee included Professor Katherine Florey (2021 Distinguished Teaching Award Winner), King Hall Alumna Melissa Jones ‘99 and Nathan Searcy '22 (Law Student Association President).