Professor Angela Harris Elected to American Law Institute

Professor Emerita Angela Harris has been elected to the American Law Institute (ALI), joining 18 other UC Davis faculty or emeriti who are members of the prestigious institution.

Widely considered the nation's most important non-governmental organization of legal reform, ALI oversees law reform projects that often form the basis of laws enacted across the country and become standards cited in judges' legal opinions, lawyers' briefs, and scholarly articles.  ALI membership is a distinct professional honor, and the number that can be admitted is limited to 3,000.

UC Davis School of Law has among the highest proportion of American Law Institute (ALI) members on its faculty of any law school in the United States, and their membership in this prestigious law reform organization is only one indicator of the UC Davis Law faculty's involvement in cutting-edge legal research and the most pressing legal and social issues of our times.

The UC Davis law faculty includes ALI members Dean Kevin R. Johnson and Professors Ashutosh Bhagwat, Gabriel "Jack" Chin, William S. Dodge, Floyd F. Feeney, Robert W. Hillman, Thomas W. Joo, and Leticia Saucedo, as well as Professors Emeriti Alan Brownstein, Carol S. Bruch, Joel C. Dobris, Daniel W. Fessler, John B. Oakley, Rex Perschbacher, Edward H. Rabin, Daniel L. Simmons, Bruce Wolk, and Richard C. Wydick.

Prior to her recent retirement from full-time teaching, Angela Harris was the Boochever and Bird Endowed Chair for the Study and Teaching of Freedom of Equality, as well as Director of the Aoki Center for Critical Race and Nation Studies at UC Davis School of Law. One of the nation's foremost scholars in the fields of critical race theory, feminist legal theory, and civil rights, she joined the UC Davis faculty from UC Berkeley School of Law in 2011.

Primary Category