Skip to content

Overview

An externship is the involvement of a student in some phase of the legal process through the performance of supervised work of a legal nature in an approved law-related field setting for academic credit. There are eight Externship programs that are comprised of placements outside King Hall that are closely supervised by King Hall faculty. These Externship programs are:

  • Judicial Process (Law 425) (2 to 6 or 12 units)
  • Employment Relations (Law 455) (2 to 6 units)
  • Federal Taxation (Law 430) (2 to 6 units)
  • Public Interest (Law 460) (2 to 6 units)
  • Legislative Process (Law 445) (2 to 4 units)
  • Criminal Justice (Law 470) (2 to 6 or 12 units)
  • Intellectual Property (Law 465) (2 to 6 units)
  • Environmental Law (Law 450) (2 to 6 units)

All placements must be approved by the faculty advisor for the externship and are limited to the Northern California-Nevada geographical area in order to facilitate faculty on-site visits.

Note: Fall and Spring semester externships are for academic units only; students may not receive pay for hours worked.

If you have questions after reviewing these Guidelines, you may contact Rena Contreras, Clinical Office Administrator in Room 1380D or at rgcontreras@ucdavis.edu.

Externships Supervisors Room Email
Criminal Justice Prof. Elizabeth Joh 2125 eejoh@ucdavis.edu
Environmental Law Prof. Rick Frank 1110 rmfrank@ucdavis.edu
Employment Law Prof. Brian Soucek 1135 bsoucek@ucdavis.edu
Intellectual Property Prof. Anupam Chander 1111 achander@ucdavis.edu
Judicial Process Dean Vik Amar 2102 vdamar@ucdavis.edu
Legislative Externship Prof. Chris Elmendorf 2131 cselmendorf@ucdavis.edu
Public Interest Prof. Jack Chin 1105 gjchin@ucdavis.edu
Tax Law Prof. Dennis Ventry 2133 djventry@ucdavis.edu

Externship Image

Externship Image