Skip to content

McGuireWoods Diversity Scholarship Program – 1L

Deadline: May 25, 2018 [2019 info not available]


At McGuireWoods, we define diversity as recognizing and valuing the differences in our workforce. To us, diversity encompasses age, sex, gender identity, race, ethnicity, national origin, disability, religion, sexual orientation, marital status and veteran status, as well as educational and professional backgrounds.

McGuireWoods’ annual Diversity Scholarship Program will award up to eight $5,000 scholarships to diverse current first-year law students with an expected graduation year of 2020, who are committed to contributing to and supporting diversity within the legal profession. Applicants are considered based on their involvement in community activities and diversity related student organizations, personal achievements, and law school and undergraduate academic performance.

Consistent with the objective of promoting diversity in legal education and leadership roles in the legal profession,
McGuireWoods will also consider additional criteria including, among other factors, whether the applicant is:

  • From an economically disadvantaged family.
  • A member of a group currently underrepresented in law schools and law firms.
  • From a family with little or no legal education or experience.
  • An alumnus of a college or university whose graduates are historically underrepresented in law school.
  • Demonstrating a strong commitment to promoting diversity in his or her undergraduate school, law school and
  • community.
  • The first family member to attend college.

Application Packet Contents

  • Completed application form .
  • Current resume.
  • Undergraduate & first semester law school transcripts (photocopy of official transcript is acceptable).
  • Personal statement (limit of 1,500 words) explaining your commitment to diversity in the legal profession, community involvement and personal achievements. Tell us something that is not on your resume.
  •  Professional letter of recommendation from an undergraduate or law professor.

Award: $5,000