Skip to content


News Posted on January 25, 2017

Professor Joh Honored with 2017 Distinguished Teaching Award

Elizabeth JohProfessor Elizabeth Joh is the recipient of the 2017 Distinguished Teaching Award, Dean Kevin R. Johnson has announced. The honor, which is made possible through the generosity of Bill and Sally Rutter, was presented at the "Celebrating King Hall" event on March 2 at the ARC Ballroom on the UC Davis campus.

Professor Joh has been part of the King Hall faculty since 2003, teaching Criminal Procedure, Criminal Law, Law and Society, and other courses. She received her undergraduate degree from Yale University, her J.D. from New York University School of Law, and her Ph.D. in Law and Society from New York University. During 2002-2003, she served as a law clerk for the Honorable Stephen Reinhardt of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. As a scholar, her interests include policing, technology, and surveillance.

King Hall students also nominated Professors William Dodge, Katherine Florey, Robert Hillman, David Horton, Lisa Ikemoto, Thomas Joo, Courtney Joslin, Carlton Larson, Evelyn Lewis, and Albert Lin. Dean Johnson said that special thanks were due to the selection committee: Alberto Roldan '92, Chair of the Alumni Association Board of Directors, Law Students Association President Alistair Shaw ’17, and Professor Peter Lee, the 2016 award recipient.

The 2017 Celebrating King Hall event will also include a keynote speech from Sacramento Mayor Darrell Steinberg ’84, recipient of the Distinguished Alumnus award presented by the UC Davis School of Law Alumni Association Board of Directors, as well as recognition of scholarship donors and outstanding achievements.