Skip to content


News Posted on April 11, 2014

Minal Khan'15 and Kelli Johnson '15 Triumph in Neumiller Competition

The team of Minal Khan'15 and Kelli Johnson '15 took top honors in the 45th Annual Irving L. Neumiller Competition held in the Kalmanovitz Appellate Courtroom on April 5, 2014.

Khan and Johnson narrowly edged out the second-place team of Gagandeep Kaur '15 and Dawei Chi '15 in a close competition overseen by a distinguished panel of judges: the Honorable Frank H. Easterbrook, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit; the Honorable Consuelo M. Callahan, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit; and the Honorable Steven M. Colloton, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.

As the annual culmination of the Law School's Appellate Advocacy Program, the Neumiller Competition is one of the most important events on the King Hall calendar. This year's competition was held in conjunction with an Admitted Students Open House, and many prospective King Hall students were in attendance.

Also observing the competition were faculty including Dean Kevin R. Johnson, Associate Dean Vikram Amar, and Professors John Hunt, Katherine Florey, Alan Brownstein, Lawrence Green, and Clay Tanaka, as well as Legal Writing and Research Fellow J. Angelo DeSantis and Lecturers Richard Schickele, Shama Mesiwala, Aimee Feinberg, and Jill Zimmerman. Alumni in attendance included Kurtis Keller '12 and Nathan McGuire '04 of Neumiller & Beardslee, which sponsors the event.