Skip to content


News Posted on January 23, 2014

Professor Imwinkelried to Receive 2014 Distinguished Teaching Award

Professor Edward J. Imwinkelried is the recipient of the 2014 Distinguished Teaching Award, Dean Kevin R. Johnson has announced.  Imwinkelried will receive the award at the "Celebrating King Hall" event on Thursday, March 13 at the ARC Ballroom on the UC Davis campus. 

The Distinguished Teaching Award, supported by the generosity of Bill and Sally Rutter, was inaugurated in 1980 to honor "law teachers who give stellar performances in the classroom."  With this year's award, Imwinkelried becomes the first King Hall faculty member to become a three-time winner of the honor.

Professor Imwinkelried earned his B.A. and J.D. from the University of San Francisco.  Before joining the School of Law faculty in 1985, Professor Imwinkelried taught at the University of Washington in St. Louis and the University of San Diego.  He teaches classes in Evidence, Scientific Evidence, Contracts, and Trial Practice and is a scholar of international renown.

The other Distinguished Teaching Award nominees were Ashutosh Bhagwat, J. Angelo DeSantis, Katherine Florey, David Horton, Elizabeth Joh, Margaret Johns, Thomas Joo, Courtney Joslin, Carlton Larson, Peter Lee, Cruz Reynoso, Donna Shestowsky, and Rose Cuison-Villazor.

Dean Johnson said that special thanks were due to the selection committee:   Gage Dungy '03 (Chair of the Alumni Board), Katherine Fowler '14, and Professor Leticia Saucedo, the 2013 Distinguished Teaching Award honoree.