Skip to content


News Posted on January 9, 2014

UC Davis School of Law Faculty Play Prominent Role in Association of American Law Schools Annual Meeting

UC Davis School of Law faculty turned out in force for the Association of American Law Schools (AALS) Annual Meeting in New York City on January 2-5.  Many King Hall faculty members were on hand to deliver presentations, lead discussions, serve on committees, and participate in other conference-related activities.  Additionally, the School of Law hosted a well-attended UC Davis reception that featured an outstanding turnout of current and former faculty, alumni, and friends.

Several King Hall faculty attended the Annual Meeting.  Examples of their participation include:

  • Professor Afra Afsharipour presented her paper on gender diversity and corporate boards in India as part of the Section on Economic Globalization and Governance panel on "Comparative Corporate Governance Meets Demands for Greater Diversity" and moderated another program for the Section on Transactional Law and Skills. Afsharipour, who serves on the executive committees of the Section on Law and South Asian Studies and the Section on Transactional Law and Skills, also was nominated as chair-elect of the Section on Transactional Law and Skills.
  • Professor Ashutosh Bhagwat chaired the Scholarly Papers Competition committee and moderated a panel in which the winners presented their papers. 
  • Professor Alan Brownstein served as co-chair of the Program Committee for the Law and Religion Section and as the moderator for the Section's program on "Cooperating with Evil, Complicity with Sin."
  • Professor Anupam Chander gave a talk titled "NSA Surveillance Abroad" on the absence of legal constraints on U.S. surveillance of non-U.S. citizens abroad, the reaction this had engendered across the world, and possible reforms in the law.
  • Professor Gabriel "Jack" Chin cosponsored a reception for minority law faculty as part of the group Professors of Color.
  • Dean Kevin Johnson served on a panel of law school deans titled "Enhancing the Law School Climate for Faculty and Students of Color: What Academic Leaders Need to Know." Dean Johnson, a former member and former chair of the AALS Committee on the Recruitment and Retention of Minority Law Teachers and Students, also cosponsored the reception for minority law faculty organized by the group Professors of Color. 
  • Professor Thomas W. Joo served as a panelist for the Section on Economic Globalization and Governance discussion titled "Comparative Corporate Governance Meets Demands for Greater Diversity" and as a moderator of the joint program of the Section on Contracts and the Section on Commercial and Related Contract Law on "The Future of Consumer Law."  He also serves on the Executive Committee of the AALS Section on Contracts.
  • Senior Assistant Dean for Student Affairs Hollis Kulwin participated in a panel titled "Student Crisis Management" as part of a day-long program presented by the AALS Section on Student Services titled "Shaping Our Students' Future:  Critical Issues from Admissions to the Practice of Law." She was also elected to be a member of the Executive Committee for the Section.
  • Professor Lisa Pruitt spoke on "The Role of Family in Class Mobility" as part of a panel called "Inequality, Capitalism, and the Family." 
  • Professor Leticia Saucedo participated in a panel exploring the 50th anniversary of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and its future.  She also serves on the AALS Standing Committee on Clinical Legal Education.
  • Professor Brian Soucek presented his paper "Perceived Homosexuals: Looking Gay Enough for Title VII" as part of a panel on Women in Legal Education. The paper, forthcoming in American University Law Review, was a winner of the New Voices in Gender Studies paper competition.
  • Profess Rose Cuison Villazor chaired and moderated the Section on Minority Groups' Program on the 50th Anniversary of the Civil Rights Act.

The UC Davis reception, held January 3, was highly successful.  Faculty in attendance included Dean Johnson, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Vikram Amar, and Professors Ashutosh Bhagwat, Afra Afsharipour, Carlton Larson, Alan Brownstein, Lisa Pruitt, Rose Cuison Villazor, Thomas Joo, and Leticia Saucedo. 

Also at the reception were alumni including Professor Jay Carlisle '69 of Pace Law School, Professor Francine Lipman of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Law; Anthony J. Rao '94, a partner at Duane Morris; and Jennifer Michael '04, a Queens County Assistant District Attorney.  The event also drew friends of the Law School including former King Hall faculty member Angela Onwuachi-Willig, now a Professor of Law at the University of Iowa and currently a visiting professor at Yale Law School, Dean Francis J. Mootz and Professor Fred Galves of the University of Pacific McGeorge School of Law, Professor Meera Deo of Thomas Jefferson School of Law, Professor Margaret Hu of Washington and Lee University School of Law, and Professor Dan Filler of Drexel University School of Law.