Skip to content


News Posted on February 27, 2013

King Hall Negotiations Team Hosts Annual Intra-school Negotiations Competition

On February 23 at UC Davis School of Law, the King Hall Negotiations Team hosted the Sixth Annual Intra-school Negotiations Competition. Participating in the event were 22 judges from across the state, lawyers, business professionals, and professors, as well as 44 King Hall student competitors.  

This year's problem concerned trusts, wills, and estates. Student teams competed in two rounds of negotiations.  In each round, students negotiated a different legal situation and were evaluated by competition judges.  After the two rounds, the top four teams were announced and they competed in the final round in the afternoon. In the final round, judged by Luke Garcia ‘08, Alexandra Goff ‘12, Sarah McBride '09, Ryan Norman '12, Jeff Osofsky ‘09, and Jesse Suarez '12, first place was awarded to the team of Austin Cho '15 and Graham Hoerauf '15, with Andrew Alfonso '15 and Hayes Hyde '15 finishing second.

The King Hall Negotiations Board commends the entire King Hall Negotiations Team for their exceptional organizational skills and enthusiasm. Under the leadership of President Jasmine Tzeng '13 and Competitions Chairs Kristin Charbonnier '13 and Kara DiBiasio '13, the Negotiations Board planned and executed the competition.  Special recognition should also be given to Saba Shatara '13, Allison Callaghan '13, Leah White '13, Kyle Junginger '14, Joel Gerson '14, and Hank Nguyen '14 for their diligent commitment to the organization of the competition.

The Negotiations Board also thanks the judges for their time and for providing substantial feedback to students, the Dean's Office for its generous financial support, Dean Kevin R. Johnson for greeting guests on the morning of the event, Professor Donna Shestowsky for acting as faculty advisor, and Support Staff Linda Cooper, Event Manager Gia Hellwig, and Graphic Designer Sam Sellers for their support.