Skip to content


News Posted on February 22, 2012

King Hall Teams Compete in Lefkowitz International Trademark Moot Court Competition

On February 11, two teams from King Hall competed in the Western Regional Saul Lefkowitz International Trademark Moot Court Competition hosted by the International Trademark Association and held at the James R. Browning Ninth United States Court of Appeals Courthouse in San Francisco.

Elizabeth Klueck '13, Kara DiBiasio '13, Melanie Young '13, and Hannah Labaree '13 comprised one team, and Ian Hlatkey '13, Nima Rahimi '13, Jared Wigginton '13, and Nathan Zhang '13 comprised the other.  This year's problem involved trademark law in the political arena and the First Amendment. The competition involved a brief writing component and two rounds of oral argument, with 20 teams from law schools around the Western United States participating. Both King Hall teams put forth a tremendous effort and represented the Law School well, and the team of Hlatkey, Rahimi, Wigginton, and Zhang won second place overall and will advance to the National Competition in Washington DC next month.

The teams would like to thank Professors Ashutosh Bhagwat, Alan Brownstein, Lawrence Green, Rex Perschbacher, and Madhavi Sunder, as well as Brandon Shelton '12, Collin Kilpatrick '12, Ariel Brownell '12, Brittany Sachs '12, Jan Roos '12, Jason Liu '12, Ryan Norman '12, Denise Mendez '12, and Robert Meyer '12 for helping the teams prepare for their competition. The teams would also like to thank the deans of UC Davis School of Law for their support of the competition.