Skip to content


News Posted on January 10, 2012

King Hall Faculty Have Large Presence in AALS Annual Meeting

UC Davis School of Law played a prominent role in the Association of American Law Schools (AALS) 2012 Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. on January 4-8, with numerous faculty  speaking and taking leadership positions in meetings, discussions, and presentations.  In addition, the Law School hosted a successful King Hall Alumni and Friends reception in conjunction with the conference, and the late Professor Keith Aoki was honored with two posthumous awards.

Faculty speaking at the conference included Dean Kevin R. Johnson, who was part of a panel discussion on "American Citizenship in the 21st Century," Professor Lisa Pruitt, who was part of a panel on "Busting Out in Scholarship" sponsored by the Section on Women in Legal Education, and Professor Courtney Joslin, who presented her article "Modernizing Divorce Jurisdiction: Same-Sex Couples and Minimum Contacts," which was chosen from a call for papers.   

Other faculty helped to lead AALS committees and boards, including Professor Thomas Joo, Chair-Elect of the Contracts Section; Professor Afra Afsharipour, Treasurer of the Section on Transactional Law and Skills; Professor Leticia Saucedo, member of the Committee on Clinical Legal Education; and Associate Dean Vikram Amar, Immediate Past Chair of the Civil Procedure Section and member of The Journal of Legal Education Editorial Board.  King Hall alumnae Monika Kalra Varma '00, Executive Director, DC Bar Pro Bono Program, and Francine Lipman '93, Professor, Chapman University School of Business & Economics, also served as panelists at the conference.  In addition, Dean Johnson served as Chair of the AALS Nominating Committee, which recommends members for the highest elected leadership positions in AALS, and presented the committee's report to the full AALS House of Representatives and President Michael Olivas. 

Professor Aoki, who passed away in April 2011 following a prolonged illness, was honored by the Minority Groups Section with the Clyde Ferguson Award in recognition for his dedication to racial and social justice and by the Society of American Law Teachers (SALT) with its Teacher of the Year Award.

The Alumni and Friends of King Hall Reception on January 5 drew an outstanding turnout of faculty, alumni, and friends of the Law School including Dean Johnson, Associate Dean Amar, Professors Pruitt, Carlton Larson, Jack Chin, Chris Elmendorf, and Afra Afsharipour, and alumni including Professor Lipman, Professor Megan La Belle '99 of Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law, and Professor Jay Carlisle '69 of Pace Law School, as well as Molly Baier '83 of Wells Fargo Bank Law Department, Jeff Green '88 of the Sidley Austin law firm who also teaches at Northwestern University Law School's Supreme Court Clinic, Matthew Bogoshian '88 of the federal Environmental Protection Agency, Marlon Cobar '00 of the Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Section of the U.S. Department of Justice, Sergio O' Cadiz '96 of the Board of Immigration Appeals, Paul C. Rosenthal '75, a Partner at Kelley Drye in Washington, D.C., and Tina Ham '03 of the Federal Regulatory Commission.

In addition, the AALS Annual Meeting included a January 7 showing of Cruz Reynoso: Sowing the Seeds of Justice, Abby Ginzberg's documentary film on the life and career of Professor Reynoso,

2012 AALS Annual Meeting