Skip to content


News Posted on April 12, 2011

Jessica Hawk '12 and Brittany Sachs '12 Win Neumiller Competition

The team of Jessica Hawk '12 and Brittany Sachs '12 triumphed in the 42nd annual Neumiller Moot Court Competition hosted by the UC Davis Moot Court program in the Kalmanovitz Appellate Courtroom on April 9.  This was the first time the annual competition, a longtime King Hall tradition, was held in the Courtroom in the Law School's new East Wing.

The competition, which features the four top advocates from the King Hall Appellate Advocacy program, pitted the team of Hawk and Sachs against Kurt Oldenburg '12 and Jan Roos '12. After an incredible showing of advocacy by all competitors, Hawk and Sachs were named the winners of the competition.  

This year's esteemed panel of judges featured Senior Judge Michael Daly Hawkins of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, Chief Justice of the Alaska Supreme Court Walter Carpeneti, and Judge Morrison England, Jr. from the Eastern District of California.  The judges gave tremendous accolades to each advocate as well as the UC Davis Moot Court Program as a whole.  The event was planned by this year's Neumiller Co-Chairs Erika Morris '11 and Remy Goldsmith '11. 

The competitors would like to thank Professors Carlton Larson, Angelo DeSantis, Alan Brownstein, Clayton Tanaka, Lawrence Green, Todd Noonan, Edward Imwinkelried, the UC Davis School of Law Moot Court Board, student volunteers Kyle Morishita '11, Mikalai Hroshau '11, Scott Grzenczyk '11, James Tiehm '11, Jacqueline Sutton '11, Jamie Okh '11, Shea Brack '11, Robert Meyer '12, Alex Vahdat '12, Christopher Magaña '12, and John Stoller '12 for their support. 

The annual Neumiller Competition is the final round of the year-long Moot Court competition.