Skip to content


News Posted on January 5, 2011

Assoc. Dean Amar, Professor Saucedo Elected to ALI

Associate Dean Vikram Amar and Professor Leticia Saucedo have been elected to the American Law Institute (ALI), joining 15 other UC Davis faculty who are members of the prestigious institution.

Widely considered the nation's most important non-governmental organization of legal reform, ALI oversees law reform projects that often form the basis of laws enacted across the country and become standards cited in judges' legal opinions, lawyers' briefs, and scholarly articles.  ALI membership is a distinct professional honor, and the number that can be admitted is limited to 3,000. 

The UC Davis law faculty includes ALI members Dean Kevin R. Johnson, former Dean Florian Bartosic, and Professors Keith Aoki, Diane Marie Amann, Andrea BjorklundCarol S. Bruch, Joel C. Dobris, Floyd F. Feeney, Daniel W. Fessler, Robert W. Hillman, John B. Oakley, Edward H. Rabin, Daniel L. Simmons, Bruce A. Wolk, and Richard C. Wydick.

UC Davis School of Law has among the highest proportion of ALI members on its faculty of any law school in the United States, and their membership in thie prestigious law reform organization is only one indicator of the UC Davis faculty's involvement in cutting-edge legal research.

Vikram Amar, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Professor of Law with the UC Davis School of Law, is a national authority in the fields of constitutional law, civil procedure, criminal procedure, and remedies. His biweekly column for, a leading provider of online legal information, centers on his expertise in constitutional law.

Leticia Saucedo joined King Hall in 2010 as Professor of Law and the Director of Clinical Legal Education.  An expert in employment, labor, and immigration law, she taught Torts and Immigration Law and co-directed the Immigration Law Clinic at the Wm. S. Boyd School of Law at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV).