Skip to content


News Posted on April 19, 2010

Kelly Martin '11, Scott Grzenczyk '11, Take Top Honors in Neumiller Competition

Martin GrzenczykThe team of Kelly Martin '11 and Scott Grzenczyk '11 took top honors in the 41st Annual Irving L. Neumiller Moot Court Competition on April 17, narrowly edging Camille Papini-Chapla '11 and Shaudee Navid '11. 

The competition, which is the culmination of UC Davis School of Law's year-long Intraschool Moot Court Competition, brings together top students from the appellate advocacy class to compete before a panel of distinguished judges.  This year's competition was judged by the Honorable M. Kathleen Butz '81, Associate Justice, California Court of Appeal, Third Appellate District; the Honorable Harry E. Hull, Associate Justice, California Court of Appeal, Third Appellate District; and the Honorable Sandra S. Ikuta, United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

King Hall faculty in attendance in Wilkins Moot Courtroom for the event included Dean Kevin R. Johnson, Associate Dean Vikram Amar, and Professors Alan Brownstein, Edward Imwinkelried, and Tim Schooley, who taught the Moot Court course and directs the Appellate Advocacy Program.  Also in the attendance was Kathleen Doty, California International Law Center at King Hall (CILC) Fellow, who with Schooley co-taught the Moot Court class.

The Neumiller competition is presented each spring during the UC Davis Picnic Day celebration and is open to the public.

Irving J. Neumiller Competition