Skip to content


34th Annual Distinguished Teaching Award and Scholarship Dinner

Thursday, March 14

UC Davis Conference Center Ballroom
6:00 PM

Dean Kevin R. Johnson cordially invites you the 34th Annual Distinguished Teaching Award and Scholarship Recognition Celebration for Scholarship Donors and Recipients and the William and Sally Rutter Distinguished Teaching Award honoring Professor Leticia Saucedo.

Leticia Saucedo traces her passion for law back to her childhood in a Texas border town, an experience that sparked an interest in immigration, employment law, and social justice, and which inspires her scholarship and teaching today.

Professor Saucedo earned her A.B., cum laude, from Bryn Mawr College in 1984, and following a stint in Nicaragua with the group Witness for Peace, and several years as a community organizer in inner-city Philadelphia and Boston, she enrolled in Harvard Law School, where she was managing editor of the Harvard Latino Law Review. She earned her J.D., cum laude, in 1996. She served as briefing attorney to Chief Justice Thomas Phillips of the Texas Supreme Court, and worked as an associate at Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver, and Jacobson in New York, where she was the recipient of the Fried Frank MALDEF Fellowship. From 1999-2003, she worked as a staff attorney for the Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund in San Antonio, Texas, where she litigated employment and education cases. 

In 2003, she joined the faculty at the William S. Boyd School of Law, University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV), where she co-directed the Immigration Law Clinic and conducted research on the intersections of employment, labor, and immigration law, publishing articles in leading academic journals.  In 2010, she accepted an offer to come to UC Davis School of Law, where she is Director of Clinical Education and teaches Immigration Law and Employment Law.

Professor Saucedo is a passionate believer in the importance of clinical education.  "I have come to believe that experiential teaching is the most effective way to get students to apply the theoretical aspects of the law in real-world situations that prompt them to think deeply about not only what they'll be doing in the real world when they practice but also broader issues of social justice."

March 14, 2013
UC Davis Conference Center Ballroom

Reception at 6:00 p.m.; dinner and program following at 7:00 p.m.

Tables can be purchased for $500. Each table seats 8 people. This option is available on the RSVP form.

Kindly RSVP by Tuesday, March 5, 2013 using the following links:

General Public


Scholarship Recipients 




Past recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Award include:

1980    James E. Hogan
1981    Daniel J. Dykstra
1982    Daniel W. Fessler
1983    Richard C. Wydick
1984    Jean C. Love
1985    Friedrich K. Juenger
1986    Floyd F. Feeney
1987    Bruce A. Wolk
1988    Robert W. Hillman
1989    Edward J. Imwinkelried
1990    Edward H. Rabin
1991    Margaret Z. Johns
1992    Rex R. Perschbacher
1993    Kevin R. Johnson
1994    Joel C. Dobris
1995    Alan E. Brownstein
1996    Harrison C. Dunning
1997    Martha S. West
1998    Florian Bartosic
1999    John D. Ayer
2000    Diane Marie Amann
2001    James F. Smith
2002    Debra Lyn Bassett
2003    James E. Hogan
2004    John W. Poulos
2005    Millard A. Murphy
2006    Edward J. Imwinkelried
2007    Donna Shestowsky
2008    Floyd F. Feeney
2009    Jennifer M. Chacon
2010    Amagda Pérez
2011    Clayton Tanaka
2012    Evelyn Lewis


For more information, please contact Gia Hellwig at