Skip to content


32nd Annual Scholarship Recognition & Distinguished Teaching Award

Thursday, March 31

ARC Ballrooms, UC Davis
6:00 PM – 9:00 PM

Dean Kevin R. Johnson cordially invites you the 32nd Annual Recognition Celebration for Scholarship Donors and Recipients and the William and Sally Rutter Distinguished Teaching Award honoring Professor Clay Tanaka.

Professor Tanaka earned his A.B. in English from UC Davis and his J.D. from Hastings College of Law.  Before coming to King Hall, he practiced law in the Office of the California Attorney General for more than 25 years representing the State of California in the California and federal courts.  Professor Tanaka has argued cases in courts throughout the state, the California Courts of Appeals and Supreme Court, and the federal courts, including the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

Professor Tanaka joined the UC Davis School of Law community in 2007 as a Legal Writing professor.  Now Director of the Legal Writing Program, he is a dedicated teacher and mentor to his students.

Reception at 6:00 p.m.; dinner and program following at 7:00 p.m.
Kindly RSVP by March 14, 2011 using the following links:

General Public -

Students -

Faculty -

Staff -

Past recipients include:

1980    James E. Hogan
1981    Daniel J. Dykstra
1982    Daniel W. Fessler
1983    Richard C. Wydick
1984    Jean C. Love
1985    Friedrich K. Juenger
1986    Floyd F. Feeney
1987    Bruce A. Wolk
1988    Robert W. Hillman
1989    Edward J. Imwinkelried
1990    Edward H. Rabin
1991    Margaret Z. Johns
1992    Rex R. Perschbacher
1993    Kevin R. Johnson
1994    Joel C. Dobris
1995    Alan E. Brownstein
1996    Harrison C. Dunning
1997    Martha S. West
1998    Florian Bartosic
1999    John D. Ayer
2000    Diane Marie Amann
2001    James F. Smith
2002    Debra Lyn Bassett
2003    James E. Hogan
2004    John W. Poulos
2005    Millard A. Murphy
2006    Edward J. Imwinkelried
2007    Donna Shestowsky
2008    Floyd F. Feeney
2009    Jennifer M. Chacon
2010    Amagda Pérez

For more information, please contact Gia Hellwig at or 530-754-5335