Skip to content

National Asian Pacific American Bar Association Law Foundation Scholarship

Application Period: July 29, 2018 to September 2, 2019

Deadline: September 2, 2019

The NAPABA Law Foundation is a non-profit, tax-exempt 501(c)(3) organization established by the National Asian Pacific American Bar Association. NLF carries out its work primarily by awarding scholarships and fellowships that promote the interests of the Asian Pacific American community.
Since its founding, NLF has awarded more than $500,000 in scholarships and nearly $750,000 in fellowships and internships. NLF awards scholarships on a nationwide basis to law students who demonstrate a commitment to serve or contribute to the Asian Pacific American community as future leaders. These scholarships are made possible by donations from numerous corporations, law firms, bar associations, and individuals.
1. Submit an essay (not to exceed 500 words) addressing the following questions:
      a. What are the most significant experiences in your background that have shaped and demonstrated your commitment to serving the needs
      of Asian Pacific Americans?
      b. How will I best serve the needs of the Asian Pacific American community in my future legal career? (This essay carries the greatest weight
      in the evaluation of your application.)
2. Submit the following with your application form:
      a. An official copy of your most recent law school transcript (or for a first-year law student, a statement from your law school certifying that
      you are a law degree candidate enrolled at least part-time);
      b. Resume;
      c. Two (2) letters of recommendation (from persons not related to you); and
      d. (Optional) a copy of your application to your law school for financial assistance.
3. If you do not submit the required information, your application will not be considered by the NAPABA Law Foundation.
4. Completed applications must be emailed to by the deadline. The subject headers should read “[year] NLF Scholarship Applicant”

Award: Varies