Skip to content

Distinguished Alumna/us Award

2020 Distinguished Alumna Award Recipient
Margaret Z. Johns '76


The Award

The King Hall Distinguished Alumna/us Award is awarded by the UC Davis School of Law Alumni Association Board of Directors to an alumna/us who embodies the values of the School and has demonstrated extraordinary post-graduate achievement in the legal profession or in service to society or to the School. This award is intended to recognize an alumna/us who graduated more than fifteen years ago. To nominate an alumna/us who has graduated within the past fifteen years, visit the Rising Star Alumna/us Award.


Nominees must have graduated from the UC Davis School of Law more than fifteen years ago.  Nominees must have at least one recommendation describing the nominee’s achievement or service. Nominations may be made by any member of the public (e.g. need not be affiliated with UC Davis School of Law).

Selection Criteria

Award recipients are selected on the basis of their career achievements and service to society, such as contributions to the legal profession, education, public service, professional societies, and civic or community causes that reflect the values of the School; and/or on the basis of their commitment to the School through their contributions of service or financial support to the School.


Nominations may be submitted by mail or e-mail by August 30, 2019.

Nomination Form

Click here to view and download the Distinguished Alumna/us Award nomination form. 

Past Award Recipients

2019: Sister Simone Campbell '77

2018: Lt. Col. Gary Solis '71

2017: Darrell Steinberg '84, City of Sacramento Mayor

2016: Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye ’84, Chief Justice of California


2003: Stephen F. Boutin '72, Windie O. Scott '77, Olivia C. Or '82, Lisa C. Ikemoto '87 and Dario F. Frommer '92

2001: Kenneth Babcock '81 and Judy Johnson '76

2000: Michael J. Duckor '70, Elisabeth A. Semel '75, the Honorable Frank J. Ochoa '75, Joel L. Diringer '80, Michael D.   Laurence '85, Chirtine O'Shea Heydinger '90 and Nancy J. Saracino '95

1998: Hank M. Marsh '73, LaVeeda Morgan Battle '78 and Dan Saxon '88

1997: The Honorable Gordon S. Baranco '72, Charity Kenyon '77 and George Miller '72

1996: D. Steven Blake '71, Angela Oh '86, the Honorable Nancy Wieben Stock '76 and Arthur Torres '71

1995: Paul Comiskey '75 and Yoshinori Himel '75

(inaugural) 1993: The Honorable Jane Restani '73 and Michael E. Taylor '69